Recipes : Beef Salpicao with Baby Potatoes

Pardon the lack of photos for this post as I wasn’t able to take some due to the fact that I was a bit exhausted and hungry at that time and I munched them all in super speeds until I realized that they’re all gone. hahahaha

Any-who, this is my first recipe post for my blog (hooray!) and I’m hoping for more to come.  I promise to make them more interesting and to share more photos as well.  I’ve adapted this recipe from Panlasang Pinoy and it has been tried and tested.

The Beef Salpicao is originally a Spanish dish but it has been famous now as a Filipino dish due to the different twist that Pinoys added.  This is an easy to prepare dish for when you want to satisfy your beef cravings.

photo credit: eatingclubvancouver.com

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tip:  The more the Garlic, the Better 🙂

Preparation time is no more than 30 minutes.  When I made this, I paired it with some good ol’ baby potatoes and garlic mayo dip on the side.  Perfection!

All you need is..

Half Kilo of Beef Sirloin (or Tenderloin if you want it softer)

5 Cloves of Crushed Garlic (or you can add more if you wish)

Half a cup of Worcestershire Sauce

2 Tablespoons Oyster Sauce

1/8 Cup Butter

A bit of Olive Oil

Salt and Black Ground Pepper for seasoning

To get the taste and season your beef perfectly, I suggest you marinade it in Salt and Pepper, 1 tablespoon of Worcestershire Sauce, and half of the crushed garlic.  This is just to give the beef enough time to absorb the seasoning so that it tastes better.  You may opt to set the marinated beef aside in room temperature but it’s best to place it inside the refrigerator (not in the freezer!) so that it absorbs faster.

After a few minutes (20-30), we can now start searing our beef in a pan.  At medium heat, add a bit of olive oil to the pan and place the beef along with the marinade when the pan is hot enough.  Sear and toss the beef until it has turned brown on the outside.

Add the Worcestershire Sauce and the Oyster Sauce into the seared beef and cook it some more until the sauces dry up a bit.  Mix in the butter and cook is for at least 5 minutes more.  Once the beef is cooked, take it out of the pan leaving the oil which will then be used to fry the leftover garlic bits.  This will add more taste to the garlic bits.  Once done, place the beef into a nice plate, pour the oil over and sprinkle the garlic bits on top.  Voila!  You now have your very own Beef Salpicao.

You may choose any side that suits your taste.  It can be garlic bread, rice, veggies, and many others.  For this one, I paired it with Poached Baby Potatoes and garlic mayo dip on the side.  I also added a small portion of butter seared corn and carrots to have that good mixture of taste (and also coz we love our sides, don’t we?).

I wish I could show you photos of what I came up with.  Anyway, I’ll make sure to take photos next time (try to be patient, hunger can wait.. haha).  If you will ever try this out, or if you’ve had in the past, I’d love to hear about it!  It’s good to learn from other experiences too. 🙂  Till next time!

photo credit: panlasangpinoy.com

One response to “Recipes : Beef Salpicao with Baby Potatoes

  1. there should be more sites like yours on the net! glad to have come across your website

Leave a Reply

