Smoke

I remember the days when I was just a happy-go-lucky girl who went to beaches more often than ever, enjoying the sun and the sand, frolicking in the shore, and doing lots of other fun summer stuff.  Oh, how I miss those days.  Now, I’m practically stuck in the city, working my ass off (i’m an IT Engineer working in Makati), being busy with things that don’t really put a smile on my face (except blogging!).  I wish I can have the luxury again and go out, have fun, forget the hectic life I’ve been burrowing myself in for the past few years.  Enough said for the rants, be best to rave on good (or should I say GREAT) memories of the past.

Boracay as some of you might have known is one of the best and most famous beach here in the Philippines.  I always cherish the moments we’ve spent when we were in that island.  It is truly magical!

photo credit : wayph.com

One of the best things about Boracay is of course, the FOOD!  This restaurant is the first we ever tried when we first got to Boracay.

Smoke is one of Boracay’s famous restaurants that serve Sizzling Food in Sizzling Plates.  It’s located in Station Two inside the restaurant packed D’ Mall.  We went for this one because it’s cheap and yet delicious!  It mostly reminds me of the sizzling food that we used to have (almost everyday) when we were in college.  Simple with a Filipino touch because Pinoys just love things Sizzling (true that!).

We had two of their best sellers, the Sizzling Spareribs

Love that sauce!

This one tastes really good because of the special sauce that they added to the pork.  We have this one with rice of course. 🙂

.. and the Bicol Express

(candlelit! how nice..)  The Bicol Express is famous of course from Bicol province for it’s spicy flavor because of the chunks of chili peppers incorporated in the dish.  It is made of pork cuts cooked in coconut milk and the spicier, the better!  We had ours at mild spicy flavor (still HOT though!).

Aside from these two, we also ordered the Lechon Kawali (Fried Pork Cuts)

Their version of the satay sauce went well with the fried pork.  Yum!

I still can’t believe that we had a full delicious meal for less than 200 Pesos each. That is considering you’re in Boracay.  We all know that tourist spots almost always sell goods a bit more expensive than usual.  This is perfect for tourists that are on a tight budget.  We do make it a habit to have lunch or dinner here whenever we are in Boracay.  It’s nice to feel at home and feel the sand in your toes at the same time. 🙂

2 responses to “Smoke

  1. I miss eating anything served on a sizzling plate. It’s been almost 2 years since I had a sizzling sisig. The last one I had was from Aling Lucing, at one of their branches in SM. This is a very interesting post. Makes me want to go to Boracay. Almost everyone I know have been there, except me.

    • Thanks! Yeah, been wanting to go back soon.. I’m crossing my fingers that I get a good deal with airphilexpress.. 1 Peso sale for Valentines! 😀 You should go, it’ll be totally worth it! Just hope it’s not on a rainy day 😀

Leave a Reply

